Sheriff's Command Staff

Photograph: Sheriff Ron H. Freeman

Sheriff Ron H. Freeman

Sheriff Ron Freeman is honored and proud to serve as your Sheriff.

Elected to Office in 2016, Sheriff Ron Freeman has been a resident of Forsyth county for nearly 40 years. Sheriff Freeman began his career with the Sheriff’s Office in 1987. He is a 3rd generation law enforcement officer whose family has over 120 years of combined service in the State of Georgia. Sheriff Freeman has spent nearly his entire adult life protecting the citizens of Forsyth County, he has worked in nearly every division of the agency including Chief of Detectives, Precinct Commander and SWAT leadership and is well versed in all operations of the Sheriff’s Office. In 2013, he joined the new city of Brookhaven in Metro-Atlanta where he was recruited... Read More

Photograph: Chief Grady D. Sanford, Jr.

Chief Grady D. Sanford, Jr.

Chief Grady D. Sanford, Jr. serves as the Chief Deputy for the Forsyth County Sheriff’s Office in Forsyth County, Georgia.

Chief Sanford began his career in law enforcement in May of 1984 when he was employed as a Deputy Sheriff with the Gordon County Sheriff's Office until taking a position with the Fairmount Police Department in December of 1986. He served as a Police Officer until beginning his career with the Georgia State Patrol (Georgia Department of Public Safety) in July of 1987 as a radio operator at Post 43 Calhoun. In 1988, Chief Sanford attended the 63rd Georgia State Patrol Trooper School and was assigned to Post 3 Cartersville after graduation. In 1992, he transferred to Post 43 Calhoun and worked there until his promotion to Corporal at Post 9 Kennesaw in 1997... Read More

Photograph: Major Thomas K. Patton

Major Thomas K. Patton

Major Thomas K. Patton oversees the Sheriff's Services Bureau of the Forsyth County Sheriff's Office in Forsyth County, Georgia.

Major Patton began his law enforcement career in 2002 with the Alpharetta Police Department, which is now part of the Alpharetta Department of Public Safety. He served in the Uniform Patrol Division, and then in the Community Relations Unit where he worked primarily with Alpharetta's business community. Following that assignment, he assumed responsibility of the department's budget and finance operations. During his career, Major Patton held supervisory and/or command responsibility for Finance, Training, 911, Records, procurement, and other support responsibilities. He retired from the Alpharetta Police Department as a Captain... Read More

Photograph: Major Joe F. Perkins

Major Joe Perkins

Major Joe Perkins commands the Law Enforcement Bureau of the Forsyth County Sheriff's Office in Cumming Georgia.

Major Perkins started his Law Enforcement career 1994 with the Cherokee Sheriff’s Office. Major Perkins worked his way through the ranks of the Cherokee Sheriff’s Office, to the rank of Chief Deputy in 2014. Major Perkins Retired from the CSO in December of 2016. Major Perkins is active in the community, he served on the boards of Cherokee FOCUS and Drug Free Cherokee. He also coached with Cherokee Youth Lacrosse.

Major Perkins holds a Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice Administration degree from Mountain State University, and a Master of Public Administration degree from Columbus State... Read More

Photograph: Major L. Deeann Cash

Major L. Deeann Cash

Major L. Deeann Cash is in command of the Jail Bureau, of the Forsyth County Sheriff's Office, in Forsyth County, Georgia.

Major Cash graduated from the Clayton County Police Academy, and began her career as a Deputy Sheriff in 1986 with the Clayton County Sheriff’s Office. Over her 31 years at CCSO she was the first female with the Sheriff’s Office to work her way through all of the ranks, from Deputy to Major. Major Cash has successfully worked in several different divisions, including the Field Operations Division, the Crime Suppression Unit, the Crime Scene Unit, and Jail Operations. Major Cash was also the first female at the Clayton County Sheriff’s Office to be assigned to the Warrant Office as a Captain.

In 2016 she was... Read More

Photograph: Captain Chuck Smith
Captain Chuck Smith
Photograph: Captain Mark Hoffman
Captain Mark Hoffman
Photograph: Captain Bill Franco
Captain Bill Franco
First Lieutenants
Photograph: First Lieutenant Ben Finley
1LT Ben Finley
Photograph: First Lieutenant Eric Silveus
1LT Eric Silveus
Photograph: First Lieutenant Jody Chapman
1LT Jody Chapman
Photograph: First Lieutenant James Poe
1LT James Poe
Photograph: First Lieutenant Jonathon Neville
1LT Jonathon Neville

Copyright © 2017 Forsyth County Sheriff's Office. All Rights Reserved.